Size ? (1 Viewer)

alfs boy

Private
Hi all .
I have just joined this forum and have found it very interesting .its a wonderful hobby .This is my first post .I sculpt figures though not military at present ,though I have done in the past for well known companies .I started painting and selling figures in the 60 and won a few cups and got a MM cover then started sculpting for my sins .I want to produce some figures ,possibly seven years war Prussian ,foot and mounted if all goes well ,maybe Kaiserzeit too .I find that the two major makers are different sizes and wonder what to go for .I prefer Stadden 54 mm size ie 54 mm to eyeball about 60 mm in overall height .I would like to present them in gloss and matte and maybe kits too .Its not going to be a huge program or worry anyone else in the trade :).Any thoughts/help on the subject would be very gratefully accepted.
thanks

Welcome to the forum mate.
It's addictive here, so you may find yourself spending more time on the forum than sculpting, but that's a chance you've just got to take!

This is just my opinion based on what you've asked, and as a non-collector of the earlier periods, but I would have thought you may have more success with the smaller scale. To my knowledge, generally, gloss figures and kits are found in the smaller scale, whereas the larger scale is dominated by matt finished products only. Just a best educated guess, but I'd be interested to see what others have to say.

Cheers
Simon

I agree with Simon. If you do gloss ,you should try to match the smallish 54mm size of the early soldier mfg. Also, F.I.W. is a favorite of mine and U.S. collectors might tend to be interested in this period, rather than the European..But welcome .Michael

A very warm welcome to the forum.

Rob