The Foraging Mission (2 Viewers)

REVWARBUFF

Sergeant Major
This is my very first attempt at creating a "dio-drama". I've been deeply inspired by many of the diodramas posted here previously by other forum members. I hope that my efforts here somehow measure up to the rest. Given my singular focus on 18th C US history, I was somewhat limited in choosing a topic. I considered creating combat scenes that depicted some of the more seminal battles of either the FIW or AWI. However, I wanted to do something different and challenge my creativity (or lack thereof). The "foraging" subject came to me one day out of no where so I thought about pursuing that idea. So here goes.........

It is late October 1776. The 17th Dragoons are camped in the northwestern part of New Jersey. They are taking part in the British mission of chasing and capturing the Continental Army which is fresh off a major defeat in White Plains, NY and are now retreating into NJ.

The day for Jane Aswell begins with her usual laundry chores. Soon after hanging the laundry Jane hears noises coming from the lower road near the farm. Her husband Hezekiah had just rode up on his horse to inform her that a small unit of British dragoons was in the area most likely on a foraging mission. He quickly left his wife and rode off to warn Mrs. Sarah Davis who lived a few miles away. The Davis farm was full of livestock and the Brits would surely have their way there.

Attachments

• scene 1a.JPG
    scene 1a.JPG
    125.4 KB · Views: 375